Review of Sleeping Giants

I usually don’t do too many reviews, but this being an advance readers edition, it prevents me from quoting the book (since its still subject to change).

But I just want to say one of my reasons for excitement for this book is it’s mostly dialogue. And that’s exactly what I need. This way I can use it as a guide on how to edit my own mostly dialogue book.

And the dialogue is definitely unique. If you read normal dialogue, it’s main purpose is to communicate feeling or intent. This dialogue, while maintaining that same purpose, also has to communicate movement and scenery, which Neuvel did a good job with by using the technique of a constant interviewer. All the sudden when you’re on the phone, the listener is ordering you to tell him what’s happening since he doesn’t have a camera on you. It’s very entertaining.

And in my last post, I was so confused about the giant; I thought they giant was going to be removed from the story since SPOILER they sank him in the ocean. But nope. It was a trick to retrieve him later. So the whole story was in fact about the giant.

One thing I did not like, besides the characters seeming to fit standard archetypes, is that I didn’t find any real, driving conflict within the story until the later half. In the beginning, it was a very plot oriented story, telling you how they recovered each of the pieces, which although was stressful at times, was not conflicted. At the times with high stress, it was mainly filled with regret or sadness for accidentally killing someone. But once Alyssa came in, there was some tension. Here there was conflict. She didn’t like the characters (we don’t really find out why) but she wants them replaceable, willing to go to any means to do so. She’s very selfish, demanding, confident…making her a great enemy in the book that I’m sad we didn’t see more of.

There was also some political conflict between nations, which we didn’t get to see a lot of, which could’ve definitely increased the tension. We got some more at the end with Korea. Definitely a high point.

In the end, I would say it was a good book. I liked seeing the unique stylistic approach, and it was a good story, even if it didn’t have a lot of tension in the first half of the story.

Neuvel, Sylvain. Sleeping Giants. New York, NY: Del Rey, 2016. Print.

Leave a Reply

