Halfway through SLEEPING GIANTS

So I had a bit of a fan girl moment at comic con at Seattle. Everyone was waiting half an hour to an hour to meet their favorite actors and actresses, and I could waltz to the front of my line because no one wanted to get the autograph of some well known writer.

Thank you Brent Weeks and Kevin Hearne. You made my week!

Also thank you Sylvain Neuvel not only for your autograph but for your new and first published book, Sleeping Giants, which was an obvious attempt and marketing but I didn’t care because cool! Advance Reader’s Edition!

Right now I’m on page 201 out of 302, having read most of the book on my flight, and I have to say it was interesting, even if this was my only means for entertainment.

This book follows a very predictable timeline pattern: linear consecutive flow, excusing the initial prologue where the story is introduced two decades in the past. After that what follows is a series of dialogue within interviews and reflective diaries from three/four characters.

And firstly, I like the interviews. I would say Neuvel definitely has his dialogue down. What I like most of all is how the interviews are always conducted by the same character, this mysterious main whom we never know the name or position of, except that he holds control over the president and NATO’s bank. This is my favorite part.

I do like the little diaries, except they seem like necessary scene breaks in order to break up the dialogue, which doesn’t get boring but seems almost required in order to get descriptions of actions or visuals, especially if the giant which is integral to the story.

The characters do have a good voice, and you can see the gender and age differences between characters, even their personalities just by their voice. But what I felt was lacking within the characters is a real dimension. Maybe it’s because they felt like stereotypes, overused archetypes: motherly overseer,  angsty pilot, etc. They didn’t have too much history or purpose behind them besides curiosity for the job driving them forward.

And right now, that’s all I can see driving this book forward: curiosity. So far what’s played out has consisted of “Ooo. Robot! Let’s find it!” to “This robot is a deadly murder machine. We’ve got to hide it!”

Seems like transformers except more technology advanced, it’s own hardships, and it’s own looks.

I’m waiting to read what happens next. What’s the arc?

Leave a Reply

