Dual Timelines

I have so many posts that are backlogged right now from when I had time to start them, and I simply don’t have time to deviate from the list…and yet, I’m going to. Why? Because I’m passionate, and I’m too caught up in my current read to not deviate.

Which means, if you don’t have a copy of this book yet, so far (on page 103 out of 383 –> 27 percent completed) I’d totally recommend this book.

Right now the book is alternating between two main timelines (although it certainly deviates within those two main timelines as well): currently – now – and then, or ten years in the past.

Then: Ten years ago, Victor and Eli – two college roommates – were in their senior thesis class, in which each of them had to invent some argument to research. Vic decided upon boring adrenaline research (quite easy in his perspective), and Eli decided to research the factors of an EO (extraordinary) development phenomenon – when a person gains supernatural powers. This eventually evolves into each of them trying to helpfully kill each other (commit suicide) in order to prove the thesis. FYI: Right now they’re friends.

Now: Fast forward to the future, where in alternating perspectives (that are either two days ago, last night, or two weeks ago), we find out that Victor now hates Eli. After he has escaped from jail – no idea how he got there – we learn how desperate he is for revenge on his friend and that he now has EO powers.

It’s driving me crazy! All these why’s and how’s!

  • Why does Victor now hate Eli?
  • How did he develop his powers?

When I’m reading then, I’m desperate to see how they eventually developed their powers?

When I’m reading now, I’m desperate to see how their friendship turned into hate? How/when did Eli go evil, because in Victor’s perspective he is? Even though he thinks of himself as the villain, as Eli as the hero…

I have seen this book as having the most reasoning for two timelines. Each one adds a question, a piece of tension, to the story. Most books I read where there’s multiple working timelines, they usually only add background, maybe reasoning. But this book, it adds questions, each one reflecting questions for the other half of the story.

This would be a good study on how to integrate dual timelines.

Advice: Make dang sure they’re dependent on each other for a full story.

Schwab, V. Vicious. New York, NY: Tor, 2013. Print.

Leave a Reply

