How to handle rejection

I’ve been working on this story for submission, “Cankerous Feline,” and I submitted it a few weeks ago and finally got feedback the other day.

Rejection.

Which in itself, isn’t a bad thing. Rejections, especially those of writing, are based on opinions and are subjective to the editor’s experience, which is why you hear of writers that had to submit a half a million times prior to acceptance.

And not all rejections are bad. This one was quite pleasant to read and entertaining to reflect on.

This literary magazine had an option – and I don’t know how many do this – where it allowed writers to not only submit for possible publication but also for critique from their editor(s). I thought this was great! I’ve never heard of a publication that actually sent you back feedback. That in itself seemed like the best review process – if they were already reading and judging the story and could give a sentence summarizing their thoughts upon the conditional letter of acceptance or rejection, what a great added benefit! (And I can’t praise that enough.)

Anyways, (s)he gave me some good advice on setting the plot earlier on in the story, which makes sense. Setting the scene is an integral part of writing the story. The main character needs to be shown up front, the plot or conflict at least hinted at, with a huge lob at setting – because if you can’t imagine the scene or personality, the reader’s already lost.

So, I fixed that – or am in the process of fixing.

But I also wanted to share an interesting fact. The editor mentioned he wasn’t a cat person prior to giving the feedback for the story, and I just want to say it up front, neither am I.

I’ve never owned a cat. Never been around cats – due to my mother’s severe cat/hay/pretty-much-all-animals-and-plants allergy. And I refuse to be around cats due to a scarring experience where a cat mauled me while I was sleeping. Still have the scars from that.

So if I convinced him/her that I was a cat person, thank you! I appreciate the compliment! Which proves the effects good research can have. Thank you YouTube:

Leave a Reply

